Doctors for our Communities

In 1997, Marshall University and Massey Energy teamed together to form Doctors for our Communities, a program that annually sponsors and provides financial assistance to an incoming M.D. degree candidates in the Marshall University School of Medicine. Special consideration is given to graduates from local counties in the coal field communities of West Virginia and Kentucky, but all students entering Marshall are considered. During the course of the program, the selected candidate will receive a loan of up to $15,000 each school year, not to exceed $60,000 in total.

The goal of the program is to bring doctors into the areas in which we operate. If the selected candidate chooses to practice medicine for a minimum of seven years in the West Virginia or Kentucky coal field counties (currently Boone, Logan, McDowell, Mingo, Nicholas, Raleigh, and Wyoming in WV and Martin and Pike in KY) the loan is forgiven.